Why are residents of Franklin County represented by people who live in Bedford and Mifflintown?

Franklin County is gerrymandered into four state house districts, 78, 82, 89, and 90.  One result is Franklin County has  one state representative who lives in the town of Bedford, Bedford County and another who lives in Mifflintown, Juniata County.

The strange shapes of the house districts also make it difficult for residents to know who represents them.

Three of the four legislators who represent Franklin County co-sponsored legislation that would end this type of gerrymandering.  Jesse Topper who represents Mercersburg and Montgomery, Peters, and Warren Townships refused to help.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close